Mount Jezreel Baptist Church 1908 Membership List

Mount Jezreel Baptist Church
Mount Jezreel Baptist Church, Alexandria, VA

Washington (Wash) Jackson is back on the scene again; he was one of the founders of Mount Jezreel Church.

In April 1890, several members of Shiloh Baptist Church, located at 1401 Duke Street in Alexandria, Virginia, left and founded Mount. Jezreel Baptist Church. Some of the members were Moses Stevens, Tilman Giles, Wash Jackson and Harriett Giles. The group met at a meeting place on King Street until Reverend Coleman and the founders secured a lot at 317 North Payne Street.

In 1908, Mount Jezreel Baptist Church was experiencing some leadership problems that led them to court. The Court asked the Congregation to settle their disputes by the ballot. Ninety-seven members of the church voted.

This 104-year old list contains some of the early members of the Church. Thanks go out to two members of Mount Jezreel Baptist Church who assisted with the church history: Deborah Ford Nelson and Barbara Williams. I obtained the membership list from the court case at the Alexandria Circuit Court.

The 1908 Voting Members of Mount Jezreel Baptist Church:

Irene Simms
Ada West
Estella Lewis
Moses Stevens
Thomas E. (T.E.) Arrington
Loula Spence
William Alexander
Susie Vass
William Sheppard
William Fortune
Melvina Hamilton
Lawrence Baker
Alice Hargrave “known as Alice Washington”
Alice Cashon
Christina Derrix
Estella Ferguson
Annie Carter
E. J. Anderson
Harriet Gyles
Louisa Vass
Lettie Palmer
Viney Green
Lizzie Moore
Ann Jackson
Amanda Williams
Mary West
Courtney Wilson
Jennie Williams
David Green
William Thomas
Irene Williams
Lemon Roy
Benjamin Morris
G.S.M Butler
Wash N. Jackson
John A. Wilson
David Shanklin
William Triplet
Sarah Green
Hallie Richards
Alberta Bryant
Delia White
Blanch White
Rose White
Cordelia Scott
Francis Dixon
Francis Simms
Emma Hall
Rebecca Anderson
Mary Snow
Alberta Anderson
Mary Fudd
Sarah Berry
Fannie Watson
Rachel Smith
Ella Braden
Eva West
Delcy Fane or Fare
Isabella Champ
Mary Sheppard
Thomas Beard
Maggie Baker
Richard Johnson
Missouri Baker
Chauncey Randolph
Blanch Parker
Pricilla Palmer
Anges Johnson
Fannie Butler
J.M. Frazier
Ida Triplett
D. Sadie White
Millie Grigsby
Daisy James
William Richardson
Frank Dorsey
Floyd Wise
John Harris
Susan B. Hall
William Robinson
Emma Jackson
Bessie Marshall “now Bessie Harding”
Lafayette Hall
Catherine Ford
Nora Wilson
Martha Butler
Loula White
Lucretia Vass
Andrew Lomax
James Churchill
Jacob Jones
Edward Snow
Nancy Derrix
Maria Roy
Sarah Jackson
Fannie Stewart
Christina Fultz

%d bloggers like this: